Roaming about, Scotland..

Being absolutely exhausted from the all nighter at Dublin Airport the first few minutes setting foot on Scottish soil were really something I couldn’t remember. I was woken up to the announcement of landing having slept the hour duration of the flight and to be honest if it wasn’t for the bitter chill slapping me in the face on the tarmac, I probably wouldn’t have even been able to hold myself up through the security which would’ve been a whole different story!

The security checks didn’t take that long considering we were coming in from another country within the United Kingdom. We grabbed the suitcase holding both of our belongings and headed through to the bus shelters getting the Airport Shuttle straight to the City Centre. First impressions of Scotland were super positive. Getting off at the last stop – The City Centre, the bus driver got out of his little hideaway and pointed us out the building where the hostel was nestled next too and then even offered to help me with the suitcase. We lugged it to the end of the road following the super helpful instructions and at the bright and early time of 8 am we had arrived at our home for the night in Edinburgh with an hours sleep to fuel us. Of course the hostel life restricts early check in in case of nightly disasters and hangovers so we were a bit stuck for a nap until two which probably should have stopped us… I will let the ellipsis speak for itself there. The hostel had a “chill out” room and the second we got in there and secured the luggage we slept sprawled out on the lounges of the very common area with me waking up at 1pm to about six strangers sitting around me watching the cricket.

I was in such a deep sleep that I really was completely discombobulated when I woke up and I just instantly panicked but then after realising my surroundings and remembering where I was, the strangers had a nice show and I was back to normal. My version of it anyway! They couldn’t help but ask why the hell we were asleep in a common area for five hours or so but after telling them they had similar stories if not worse and the conversation just continued from there until I realised it was 3pm and we had a tour starting tomorrow and no experience of the city we were in! I shook my sister awake and we headed out after dumping our stuff in the room since we had slept through check in. We layered back up and hit the pavements to just take everything in. The city to me just felt like one big movie set from a different time. The buildings aren’t necessarily gothic architecture but they just have such a regal and enchanting feel about them and the Scottish people are probably the funniest, most helpful and kind people I have come across and partnered with a legendary accent I really was in a happy place. We roamed the streets and walked the mains street that was lined with Christmas lights on top of the usual High Street lights and I have to say it was just a city that I immediately liked and felt comfortable in. From the walk we found a supermarket and then grabbed some ready made microwaved meals for dinner and headed back considering we had to be awake relatively early to start our tour. To Australians reading this, by microwave meal I do not mean a frozen tiny meal that is supposedly helpful and convenient, over here particularly the United Kingdom, meals are relatively fresh and partially cooked that is then finished off with the heating in the microwave for quite a while. Day to day probably not so great but I had a piece of chicken breast, carrots, beans , potatoes and gravy so it is quite substantial and more nutritional than the other options Edinburgh had for a little old traveller like myself.

After eating and being pretty vulnerable as usual, we returned to our room to meet another girl who I had seen upon checking in and ended up being from the Blue Mountains in New South Wales. After breaking the ice with discoveries we all had tattoos we also discovered that we would be on the same tour the next day and would end up spending the next week galavanting through the Scottish highlands. I crashed pretty early even though I had a pretty solid nap and then woke up violently to an alarm.

Similar to Ireland I was really nervous for the tour. We weren’t fully embraced or included in the Irish family joining in late and as a result I was feeling extra nervous. It was better in a way that this time we were stating from the beginning but in my head any insecurity is fuel to the fires of my thoughts as cheesy as that is. We were the first ones to check in and get sorted and then watched our new family come in through the doors one by one. All awkwardness was shattered when our tour guide came tearing into the room and the thick Scottish accent made us all instantly start laughing. We loaded the bus and found our seats and within the hour were doing some awkward speed dating exercise on the bus to get to know everybody! For me it was a nice distraction on the bus in a way but at the same time was awkward because I’m so in time with my body when in sitting on the bus. Eventually we rotated around and then continued onto the highlands stopping on occasion to walk through the woods to different waterfalls and lakes.

It was in these hidden places that you found beautiful landscapes. Pine trees and thick shrubs would line the bush tracks and shelter you from the outside. We roamed down these bush passages of the Hermitage Walk through to the gushing falls tinted the colour of Guinness. The sights and smell of the forest was really quite tranquil. If I lived in the vicinity I would be there all the time to clear my head and most probably be writing. The sound and feel of the place is just something so pretty and calming and it calmed all of my stresses even though I was moving my body through it.

That night I was challenged with a very random and unexpected test. We went to a local highlanders shop which had a fully reconstructed Viking residence where he told us all about how you would live had you been in the thriving times of highlander Vikings. Essentially it was a brutal and horrific time to be alive with spontaneous battles and brutal weaponry. The lifestyle wasn’t half glamorous with poor sanitation and lack of resources for clothing and furniture. I stupidly told my sister that if someone got to dress up I would do it and I had absolutely no idea That was involved. It was a whim of a conversation that I did not mean in the slightest when you put into reality the fact I didn’t know these people, I couldn’t get changed without bad thoughts and it would have to be one if the most embarrassing experiences I would have whilst travelling. Luckily the male dressed up first and after that was done and it came to the female volunteer I had absolutely no idea my sister would take on board what I had said and push me forward. My face swelled with embarrassment and my throat was getting quite tight. The incredibly blunt man running the show bought out the costume horrifying me and then after that requested I strip down my layers to wear it as they would back in the day. I instantly panicked at the suggested of me removing my pants and I am pretty sure a few people noticed my distress. The fact he said that along with the fact I didn’t know these people really tested me and I fake laughed and giggled my way out of that. I layered up in the new clothes and paraded around feeling like I was going to pass out. In my head I just kept thinking I couldn’t keep eating this week and stay this size and with every camera flash that went off from the people I had just met I could feel my eyes begin to glaze over with tears. He then gave us all a traditional weapon for more photos and ten before I knew it I had stripped it all off and sat back down laughing through my distress with everyone. I am glad I was challenged and proud I didn’t cry and run away to be honest. It crossed my mind but I made myself stay and cope so I could then hide my disorder for the rest of our time there. I don’t mean this is a self absorbed way but I really do think that survival or coping mode is a pretty special and in some ways beautiful trait of human beings. So many people grit their teeth to get through the day and I don’t think we give it anywhere near enough attention as it deserves to overcome your thoughts and fears in order to get through the day.

Assigned to our rooms and waiting for dinner everyone continued chit chatting and introducing themselves. Our kilted leader kept the conversation going and after dinner the drinks were flowing for everyone and I disappeared to the room to calm myself down. I don’t really know why I was so jittery but it was all to overwhelming sitting there in my
Clothes and trying to meet people and feel the food in my stomach. I did go back and join in the fun eventually and collapsed when I finally got into bed.

Day Two was another pretty full day. I hugged the biggest and tallest tree in Scotland, saw Inver Morston and sat in the Summer House where the infamous Peter Pan was written. We drove all around the region to get pictures at all different points along the way and stopped at the official Loch Ness Souvenir shop which is just strange in itself. We all warmed up with tea and retail therapy before driving out to Tomatin Whiskey Distillery for a group tour. As soon as I set foot out of the bus my stomach dropped at the scent of the whiskey I hate it that much but I have to admit the tour was quite interesting. The whole process and storage of it really isn’t something I had ever considered or wanted to know. It’s another thing I wouldn’t do again yet was glad I did and it was also worth it just to watch people taste the whiskey samples at the end!

That night was once again one for entertainment. Everybody was in for drinks and it basically ended up in a night of no limits drinking games and some very binge worthy moments for me. I didn’t eat a lot of my dinner but had had quite a good day and didn’t want to jeopardise anything. Kings Cup happened more then once with a very kind bar girl adding a range of filthy spirits into the mix and thankfully I was not the winner or loser either time and could happy keep drinking my vodka with soda water which probably tasted worse than the cup itself! We drank through the fact we had to be up early and all became quite close. It might not be politically correct but the alcohol does bring a travelling family together. We all drank together and all struggled hard the next day on the bus!

Stay beautiful
-C x

Please feel free to comment with any questions and if you are wanting to be anonymous just say in the comment and I will not approve it on the blog but still reply. You can also personally message me on the 'travellingdysmorphia' Instagram!